There were Moonbeams in Her Hair...Diary of a Sentimentalist

Current Entry
Older Entries
Leave me a Note
Diaryland

Currently Feeling: The current mood of Moonbeams at www.imood.com

10:47 p.m. - 2018-01-12

Remembering the Sabbath
We have the oddest weather. Today, temperatures peaked 70 degrees Fahrenheit..to the point where I started to get a headache from being overly warm in my sweater and boots at work.

All this after we've been buried under mountains of snow and ice for a week.

Fasting hasn't been painful tonight. Maybe it's because I allowed myself a glass of orange juice. My objective is to get closer to God and break strongholds with my prayers. Planning to do this again next Friday night, but without the juice.

My husband and I have decided that we won't be doing any chores on Sundays (as much as possible), in celebration of the Sabbath. Though both of us have been raised Catholic, our parents never modeled the observance of Sunday as a day of rest...but merely as a day of Worship. And in my memories, Sundays were days Dad used to catch up with television, especially the westerns and sports.

It's drizzling now. The rain's intensity crescendoes over the rooftops and then wanes into hollow droplets. Just listening to it is meditative. Time to wind down and get some sleep.

There will be lots to do tomorrow, Saturday, now that I won't be doing housework or grocery shopping on Sundays any longer.



< stardust of yesterday - next star to the right >




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!