There were Moonbeams in Her Hair...Diary of a Sentimentalist

Current Entry
Older Entries
Leave me a Note
Diaryland

Currently Feeling: The current mood of Moonbeams at www.imood.com

1:12 p.m. - 2018-01-17

War Against the Flu
The flu has affected the USA in epidemic proportions. I've just read that the chances of an American getting the flu this year are statistically very high...with peak chance in February.

Well, I am waging a war against the flu and every cold germ around. Last night I cooked a healthy batch of homemade chicken soup with loads of carrots, celery and onions, seasoned with thyme, garlic, and bay leaf and black pepper, with egg noodles. It was scrumptious.

Every morning my husband, daughter and I have a breakfast of green smoothies concocted with: kale, spinach, celery, carrots, blueberries, raspberries and either apple or pear. Knock on wood. We haven't been sick this fall or winter. And I am not letting this family go down without a huge fight.

It's the leafy greens, root vegetables and fruits that make all the difference. Coupled with 7-8 hours of restful sleep, the immune system is fortified.

Also, I make sure that my daughter and I get vitamin D supplements, since there isn't much sunshine to be had in the small amount of time we are outside.

On the spiritual front, I am reading information about spiritual discernment: how it is a gift from God that we should all pray for. Once prayed for, expect that you have the gift and then start practicing.

To practice, you take a situation and try to assess it (using scriptures from the bible to start out with). A situation is either from God, or it is demonic, or it is of mankind.

So I will try to look at things in light of what I've learned...try to "see" with spiritually discerning eyes.


< stardust of yesterday - next star to the right >




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!