There were Moonbeams in Her Hair...Diary of a Sentimentalist

Current Entry
Older Entries
Leave me a Note
Diaryland

Currently Feeling: The current mood of Moonbeams at www.imood.com

3:02 p.m. - 2018-01-18

Wistful Music Box Memories
Have you ever heard a tune so haunting that it spins you heart-first into the past?

This very tune music box - favorite things takes me back to when my two children were little. I see them spinning in their frilly dresses & shiny MaryJane shoes, running gaily through spring grasses and hunting Easter eggs; their sweet laughter carrying in the golden afternoon and chubby cheeks rosy like new peonies...

My nest is half empty now. The little girl I wrote about when I first opened my Diaryland account is married and has moved away. We see her 4 times a year, at best. My younger child is about to turn 13. How I wish I could relive every single year with them.

My husband is the opposite. He's not so sentimental. He looks forward to our child-free years when he can spend all of his time in the garden or traveling without telling a young person what to do.

My daughter is eating frozen blueberries now and looks up from her cellphone to find me glancing at her with wistful motherly smiles. She thinks I'm hovering and shakes her head.

Well maybe I am. Time is so precious. How can we make it slow down?


< stardust of yesterday - next star to the right >




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!